Innovation Program: Prof. Raasch Consults Government

The German Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure (BMVI), headed by Minister Andreas Scheuer, has called upon Professor Christina Raasch for scientific advice. Professor Raasch is an expert in digital economy and is a member of the innovations commission that will consult the BMVI in their 2030 innovations program for logistics. The expert panel consists of high-ranking representatives from business, science, research from all German states.

Christina Raasch is Associate Professor for Digital Economy at Kühne Logistics University. At the Institute for World Economics in Kiel, Professor Raasch is part of the research team for “Knowledge Accumulation and Growth”. She responded to her appointment by saying, “The following questions are of interest to me. How can we really facilitate creative and so-called disruptive solutions for logistics? Regarding the challenges faced in all directions of the logistics economy, how can existing business models be developed and made more sustainable? I plan to address these questions as member of the commission.”

Dynamically Developing Program

Steffen Bilger, State Secretary and Coordinator for Transport and Logistics, is head of the commission In Logistik Heute he said, “The German transport economy is booming. In order for it stay that way, last year we start our logistics innovations program 2030. (…) Now we are focused on dynamically developing our innovations program. For this reason, I have appointed an innovations commission consisting of scientific and business experts in order to discuss innovative developments. I am looking forward to our work together and am certain that the commission will come up with some valuable insights from which the entire logistics industry may profit.”  

Deutsche Bahn, FreightHub, HHLA, Lufthansa Cargo and Rhenus are among the companies represented. Research and scientific experts hail from the following institutions: Frankfurt University of Applied Sciences, Fraunhofer Institute for Material Flow and Logistics (IML), Stuttgart Technology University of Applied Sciences, TU Dresden, and the University of Bremen.

More Information:
Members of the new Innovations Commission